The Byzantine Forum
Newest Members
ElijahHarvest, Nickel78, Trebnyk1947, John Francis R, Keinn
6,150 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
1 members (bwfackler), 1,022 guests, and 55 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Photos
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
St. Sharbel Maronite Mission El Paso
by orthodoxsinner2, September 30
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
Holy Saturday from Kirkland Lake
by Veronica.H, April 24
Byzantine Catholic Outreach of Iowa
Exterior of Holy Angels Byzantine Catholic Parish
Church of St Cyril of Turau & All Patron Saints of Belarus
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics35,506
Posts417,453
Members6,150
Most Online3,380
Dec 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 115
P
Member
Member
P Offline
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 115
I am curious of the contemporary state of the monastic dietary observance. Are Orthodox and Eastern Catholic monasteries generally vegetarian (fasts aside)? I know historically it would seem that there is some limitation on the consumption of animal/animal products, but I am curious of the modern practice?

Thanks

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 512
Likes: 1
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 512
Likes: 1
Depends on the monastery, and even on the monk. One thing they're certainly not is vegetarian for the same reasons modern worldly-people are. That being said, some monks probably don't eat meat, and there are plenty of examples in the Synaxarion of vegan monks, or even monks who eat little at all.

The introduction to Metropolitan Kallistos Ware and Mother Mary's triodion talks about Lenten practices and reasons - they were written by Metropolitan Kallistos who has abundant experience in eastern monasteries. Another excellent discussion of the reasons and rationale is in the book "The Great Lent". Though that book is about lay Lenten life, I believe the rationale is basically the same for the monk.

The only Greek Catholic monastery I've been to served copious amounts of chicken and cheese. I've been to about a half a dozen Orthodox monasteries, where they served the pilgrims cheese and seafood non-fast days. This includes canned tuna (in the US), shrimp as well as Aegean-caught squid.

Mmmmm squid.......

Last edited by MarkosC; 08/02/09 06:24 PM.
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
L
Member
Member
L Offline
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
As I understand, one probably will not find Red Meats, Chicken, etc. at a Orthodox monastery. One will definately find Wine, oil, and fish when it is permitted (non-fasting days).

However, remember that non-vertebrate are allowed during most fasting times (calamari, shrimp and other).

It is correct that some monastics are complete vegetarians (and some probably vegan).

Ironicially, if one follows the strictest rules of fasting, we are even more vegan than vegans sometimes during the fast. No oil (no frying). Dry eating is super vegan, lol.


Moderated by  theophan 

Link Copied to Clipboard
The Byzantine Forum provides message boards for discussions focusing on Eastern Christianity (though discussions of other topics are welcome). The views expressed herein are those of the participants and may or may not reflect the teachings of the Byzantine Catholic or any other Church. The Byzantine Forum and the www.byzcath.org site exist to help build up the Church but are unofficial, have no connection with any Church entity, and should not be looked to as a source for official information for any Church. All posts become property of byzcath.org. Contents copyright - 1996-2024 (Forum 1998-2024). All rights reserved.
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0